Topics Topics        

Badman's Tropical Fish - Archives * Beginner Freshwater * Elephant Nose       

These questions and answers are for research or archival use only. There is a wealth of information here and I encourage you to search the areas. For the latest information and to join an active forum please click below.
Badman's message forum

Top of PagePrevious PostNext PostBottom of Page Link To This Post

Emma
Username: fuzzy

Post Number: 1
Posted on Thursday, April 06, 2006 - 08:47 am:       

I'm pretty new to Freshwater Tropicals and am finding a lot of the information from books and stores very contraditive of each other! I have a 10-12 gallon tank with 1 small Angle, I red tailed shark, 1 Albino shark, 3 Tiger Barbs, 2 Corys, 1 Bristlenosed Catfish and a Ghost Knife. All getting along fabulously. Has anyone had any experience with Elephant Nosed?

debbs
Advanced Member
Username: debbs

Post Number: 1754

Posted on Thursday, April 06, 2006 - 09:17 am:       

Welcome to Badman's Emma!

Badman's Elephant Nose profile http://badmanstropicalfish.com/profiles/profile42.html

I don't have the experience with Elephant Nose's but I do have experience with another Mormyridae, the Baby Whale.

Very shy and stays in caves (or PVC's) all day. They are not aggressive eaters so it is harder still to feed them if you've aggressive eaters in the tank (Angel fish etc.) They should be fed at night live foods such as bloodworms, blackworms and brine shrimp. In my opinion, they are not Beginners fish.

Emma, you mention having all the above fish in a 10 gallon tank?

Tank Requirements for 1 Angel Fish - min. 29 gal.
Tank Requirements for 1 Red Tailed Shark - min. 30 gal.
Tank Requirements for 1 Ghost Knife - to start as they grow to 20" - 55 gal.

If you go the link above, I believe most of the fish you have are on Profile. Some profiles are made by people that have hands on experience with these particular fish. Very good info.