Topics Topics        

Badman's Tropical Fish - Archives * Live Plants * Want to *maybe* try live plants       

These questions and answers are for research or archival use only. There is a wealth of information here and I encourage you to search the areas. For the latest information and to join an active forum please click below.
Badman's message forum

Top of PagePrevious PostNext PostBottom of Page Link To This Post

maura
Username: quinndehart

Post Number: 4
Posted on Thursday, March 23, 2006 - 09:09 pm:       

I am considering trying a few live plants in my tanks; after reading posts here listing the benefits and about how some fish thrive with them. (Am wondering if this is why I could never keep otos alive) Am a total newbie in this regard and need some advice.

I have a 55, 2 20s and a 5. The 55 is a wonderful established community tank with:

3 swordfish
5 platys
4 mollies
4 neon tetras
2 julli corydoras catfish
various swordfish and platy fry.
Would like to get more neons and a couple more corys.

I have approx. 20 fancy guppies in one 20, a boatload of gupppy fry in the other; and 8 adolescent fancy guppies in the 5.

What dead easy, hard to kill plants would you recommend for a complete newbie?

Erin
Username: shay

Post Number: 1030

Posted on Thursday, March 23, 2006 - 09:18 pm:       

Hi Maura. Welcome to Badman's. Echinodorus bleheri is a dead easy difficult to kill sword/weed. Two in a 55 gallon would take over. You will have to trim back leaves to keep it on the smaller side. Take a look at the photo section and look at JP's tank.

Anubias are tough to kill but grow slowly and often acquire some green spot algae. Java fern and java moss are also good choices. Anacharis and bolbitis will work.

Planted tanks are wonderful although sometimes challenging. Your fish will thank you for it though in the long run.
Member of Delaware Valley Aquatic Gardener's Association (www.dvaga.com)

larry
Username: gomezaddams

Post Number: 817