Topics Topics        

Badman's Tropical Fish - Archives * Equipment & DIY * Penguin Issues       

These questions and answers are for research or archival use only. There is a wealth of information here and I encourage you to search the areas. For the latest information and to join an active forum please click below.
Badman's message forum

Top of PagePrevious PostNext PostBottom of Page Link To This Post

Jenni
Username: jenni0206

Post Number: 339
Posted on Monday, January 09, 2006 - 01:03 pm:       

So, I returned home to my tanks after a long absence and it seems that one of my 170s has lost suction. I can see the motor working (i.e. it spins/rattles the impellor), but the impellor spins both left and right. I'm no filter expert, but I think it should probably only spin one direction. I cleaned the whole apparatus thoroughly, and determined that nothing was clogging or in the way, and determined that the impellor is not damaged.

Any thoughts or suggestions? If I can easily fix this, I'd much rather do that than having to buy a new filter :-)

cindy
Ancient Plus
Username: cindy

Post Number: 8835
Posted on Monday, January 09, 2006 - 03:45 pm:       

If you have more than one of those filters, swap impellers with another one and see if that is the problem.

If you don't have more than one, PETsMART sells replacement impellers for about $8. I'd buy a new one and open it carefully and drop it in and see if that takes care of the problem. If not, repackage it and return it to the store.

"The only ones among you who will be really happy are those who will have sought and found how to serve." --- Albert Schweitzer

Jenni

Post Number: 340
Posted on Monday, January 09, 2006 - 08:40 pm:       

I will try that. Thanks Cindy, you're always so helpful. :-)

Jenni

Post Number: 344
Posted on Monday, January 16, 2006 - 01:26 am: