Topics Topics        

Badman's Tropical Fish - Archives * General Saltwater Questions * Stretching the limits       

These questions and answers are for research or archival use only. There is a wealth of information here and I encourage you to search the areas. For the latest information and to join an active forum please click below.
Badman's message forum

Top of PagePrevious PostNext PostBottom of Page Link To This Post

Kenny
Username: kennyman

Post Number: 401
Posted on Sunday, October 30, 2005 - 07:42 pm:       

Are there any corals, anemone or other similar critters that can live long and prosper in lower salinity levels?
I'm only a Landscaper; not an English Teacher.

Laura
Username: roseh

Post Number: 895
Posted on Friday, November 04, 2005 - 08:45 pm:       

No, not really.. how low are you talking?
That's not how you spell CHEESE!

cindy
Ancient Plus
Username: cindy

Post Number: 8389
Posted on Saturday, November 05, 2005 - 08:30 am:       

Kenny's talking brackish levels, I believe, unless he is planning on increasing his salinity or starting a new tank.

I don't keep SW so I have no experience or expertise here, but I believe most of the SW critters are much more sensitive too much or too little salinity than the brackish creatures we both keep, so I wouldn't try it.

Kenny, maybe you should just start a marine tank?

"The only ones among you who will be really happy are those who will have sought and found how to serve." --- Albert Schweitzer

Laura

Post Number: 896
Posted on Saturday, November 05, 2005 - 08:29 pm:       

Things like the ones mentioned die or suffer in anything less than 1.021-1.022 or so, and even that's stretching it. 1.023-1.025 is the optimal range. Brackish certainly isnt enough.

Kenny

Post Number: 411
Posted on Saturday, November 05, 2005 - 08:32 pm:       

lol cindy. It will happen at some point, but not quite yet. I was reading about kettlefish! but thats annother story.