Topics Topics        

Badman's Tropical Fish - Archives * The Brackish Alternative * Algae problem in a brackish tank       

These questions and answers are for research or archival use only. There is a wealth of information here and I encourage you to search the areas. For the latest information and to join an active forum please click below.
Badman's message forum

Top of PagePrevious PostNext PostBottom of Page Link To This Post

debbs
Advanced Member
Username: debbs

Post Number: 1304
Posted on Wednesday, April 06, 2005 - 11:00 am:       

I was reading the algae question in the Aquatic Section, and not wanting to steal the post with my question decided to ask here instead. :-)

It was mentioned there is a product on the market that 'kills' Algae...I never look in the chemical department of the stores, as I never buy chemicals accept on-line for Dechlor, calcium or iodine, so I've no knowledge of this product.

I've a Brackish tank with my Puffers. Salinity is 1.016. I can't grow plants nor can I use snails or shrimp to battle the algae. It is a brown slimey algae and hard green algae I have. Most days I don't even put the lights on the tank because of algae problems.

So.....how good is this chemical? Is it okay to use in a brackish tank?
BW 55, FW 75, 3-10's, 6 & 5
Amazingly, it's not just fish!

Brad Charby
Username: brad

Post Number: 78
Posted on Wednesday, April 06, 2005 - 11:53 am:       

I have the same problem in my brackish. Mine gets alot of natural light(my store is all windows)I`ve tried `Algae Destroyer` with absolutely no success. I just take a rag and clean it off. I`ve never had any success with any chemicals. Ph buffers etc....

cindy
Ancient Plus
Username: cindy

Post Number: 6549
Posted on Wednesday, April 06, 2005 - 12:03 pm: